RSS

Why am I Blogging?

27 Sep

I was given cause today to reflect on the point of keeping this blog.  As I have known, but maybe never have had pointed out to me, this is completely opposite of me and who I am.  I am not someone who goes online and publishes posts like that of which are here, especially when people I know read them.  It is not a part of me that fits with the rest. 

In the beginning of the life of this blog, it was suggested to me I start it as a means of sharing my vocation story.  It was January of 2010 and I was in the midst of deciding whether or not to enter formation with the Salesian Sisters (aka formally, Daughters of Mary Help of Christians).  I gave a brief background on the events of my life that brought me to where I was at and shared some poems/lyrics I had written in the excitement of what could possibly come next.  From there, I lose track of where it went.  The post have been a mix of creative writing, reflections, music, wisdom from others, stories, updates on how my life is, things that go on where I am at, and such things of the like.  Now I look at it again wondering what direction I want to move in and what can make it more like me.  Part of me may have run to it as a place to hear what others say, I don’t need that in the end.  Part of me wants to inspire others, I still wish to do that.  There has to be a better balance I must say. 

In the future, there will still be blog posts.  What they contain, I am not yet sure.  I just know that I have been brought to think more about what I am doing here on this website where I can make anything public. 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2011 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Why am I Blogging?

  1. pianofyre

    September 27, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    Iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinteresting 🙂

     
  2. Melissa Borgmann Kiemde, Visitation Companion

    September 27, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    I respect your position here and the questions underlying your public/ personal/ faithful discernment. It reminds of “Homeboy McCoy’s” and his “From Punk to Monk” blog. Did you follow him? He entered the monastery, with his readers praying for him all the way; and then he closed down his blog. He wrote about his process and why he was called to blog and why he, in the end, was called to be done. I miss him dearly, in this blog-o-sphere of writers and discerning reflectors. Yours are life-giving voices of vocational discernment. I keep you and all young women and men making their way in my heart.

    Peace, Blessings,
    Melissa

     

Leave a Reply

 
