RSS

Learning from Mother Mazzarello

22 Sep

When asked what I wanted to learn from Mary Mazzarello, I drew a blank stare in my mind.  We studied in pretty good detail, through reading the Cronistoria and Maccono, the life of Mother Mazzarello.  I had various reflections on what her life was like and how it could relate to my own journey to becoming, God-willing, a Salesian Sister.  To say now, though, what I want to learn from her appears very difficult.  This is what I have finally come up with.

I want to better know her life, her way of living, everything about here and relate it to my life.  Just to know her as the human person that she was here on earth over the saint that we praise her for today.  While they are one in the same, looking at her qualities that make her a saint causes one to forget about all the qualities that make her the whole person she was.  I want to learn the discernment and patience that she had with others.  In the end, I want to learn everything that I can from her.

There is no one particular thing that I wish to gain from this beautiful soul, but to soak up her life and who she was so that I may learn how to better be myself in this amazing institute.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 22, 2011 in Inner Reflection, Living Salesian

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
