RSS

Musical Prayer

06 Jul

I love when the random times of prayer pop up in your life.  I know that everything we should do is a prayer, but I mean the one inspired that you write down and can sit with.  The other night I went to the small chapel to play guitar.  It was not possible to play in the aspirant room, so I went for something close and peaceful.  While playing through the songs, I stopped randomly to write down the prayer thoughts in my mind.  May after or as you read this prayer of mine, you may be able to pick out the songs.  One of them is tricky, you have to really know about something to know what one of the songs are.  Anyways, this was the prayer that came from the songs that I was playing.

Lord, please give me your eyes, your love, your arms, your heart.  I don’t want to miss anything and you know everything there is to know.  Blessed be your name, you who knows the most shining moments of my life as well as the sufferings that must be endured.  You give and take away, and I will bless you still.  In those sufferings and the times I fall away, I ask to be purified.  Not just purification in the body, but in the heart deep within.  My only desire is for you, Lord.  I want to be holy and thus I pray and want to give all to you so that I may be purified.  You my strength when I am weak and discouraged.  You are the precious jewel that will help me take my sin, my shame, all of my cross and rise up giving it all to you who is my all.  You are always by my side with your hand holding me even in those times I struggle.  You love me so much that I can even run to you in the dead of the night it I am falling or just need to call on you.  The holiness that you are reigns forever.  I can call on you in so many ways, and you are worthy of them all.  Oh Lord, Prince of Peace, I want to live my life for you.  I need your saving grace because as I have said before, I struggle.  I am completely lost without you, so take my joy and fear.  I pray every day and every night.  Please guide my way with your love from heaven.  I will never stop doing your work as long as you keep me from getting lost.  I need you, transform and protect me.  Thank you, Lord.  Amen.

It seems like a powerful prayer as I now read it after having written it.  Inspired, for sure it was as I did not think too much about it when writing it down.  I hope it strikes a good chord with you too.  Don’t forget, can you name all the songs in order through the whole prayer?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 6, 2011 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Musical Prayer

  1. vitaconsecrata

    July 7, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    I recognized quite a few of those songs – but there is no way I’d be able to get them all!!
    I love it though!

     

Leave a Reply

 
