RSS

Time With Friends

19 Jun

This past week, I was blessed to be able to hang out with two of my very closest friends.  They perhaps know even more about me than I do!  It is not very often that I am home or able to see them, so I am very thankful. 

On Wednesday Nicole came over to stay the night.  We went to the music store, then bought food for dinner, came home and played some games, she cooked dinner (I helped…), we ate, then we hung out with the girls, ate a wonderful desert (bedtime snack), followed by Harry Potter viewing (part one of Deathly Hallows), and lasting some dominoes.  Of course, it was not all about what we did although it was very simple and easy.  It was about being able to spend time together with her.  We were up to a little about 3 in the morning finishing our dominoes game after the movie, that we had started sometime earlier. 

At about 8 in the morning my phone goes off with some unpleasantly loud sound I set and scared the living daylights out of me.  I had informed my other friend that she was to call me when she was leaving to come visit me.  Jocelyn at current is living two hours south of me, so to be here mid-morning would involve an early start for her.  It was definitely to be said I was not expecting the earlier arrival of her, but none-the-less I got up fifteen minutes before she came and showered while Nicole lay resting on the couch where we slept.  When Jocelyn arrived I was really excited because it had been ten months since we had seen each other.  After greeting joyfully another friend, the three of us sat down to a game of cribbage.  Just like to note that I skunked them both!  Upon completion of the game, I had to bid my farewell to Nicole who had to leave.  Her and I certainly had a wonderful night!

Now the afternoon was left to Jocelyn and I.  Again, the activity of the day was quite simple.  We went to Panera for lunch then returned to the house to play some more cribbage and just be with each other.  Being as she was called into work, she had to leave around 4:30 so that she could make it back in time for when she was wanted in.  It was good to see her especially since it had been so long.

The blessings of close friends is something I never take for granted.  Yes I have been accused of doing so, but it is not true.  When one finds those people in your life who care about you and you care about them in return, it is something you never want to lose.  These two friends that I got the chance to see while home are surely blessings in my life, as are all my other friends that I don’t get to see as often.  I thank God for them coming into my life and pray that they remain safe and close to Him who loves them, especially on this father’s day (despite it being about over)! 

Thank you for the time with my friends!  I know I have said it a million times, but they really helped me reach the point I am now in life! 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 19, 2011 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Time With Friends

  1. Melissa Borgmann Kiemde, Visitation Companion

    June 20, 2011 at 12:20 am

    God bless good friends, and the work, grace, gifts, time, it takes to sustain such relationships!

     

Leave a Reply

 
