RSS

Praise God for Joyful Noise!

13 Jun

Praise God for the wonderful day Saturday!  I spent my whole day surrounded by God, not that I don’t usually, but in a different not as common way.  Starting the day with mass as always, it was a great beginning to my day.  I have been a little shaken the couple of days prior.  This time while at mass, I was able to be more at peace.  My routine for daily mass involves praying the prayers as we normally do in the morning with the sisters. From there, I went home and got ready leave the house.  Where did I go next?  To spend all day at the Joyful Noise Family Fest with my parents and little sisters!

How did this come about, well let me tell you.  Angie (youth minister at my parish) had pointed it out to me when I went to go visit her.  She said she was thinking about going and knew I liked some of the bands that were going to be there.  I asked if I could go with her, so all we had to do then is make sure we could both go.  When I brought it up at first to my parents, they were not sure for whatever reason.  It might have been price.  Mom, on one of her websites the gives discounts to lots of things, came across by chance a 50% off price to the tickets to go.  I call and let Angie know.  Dad later says that we can all go; my brother opts to stay home.  The day following that, I went to see Angie after mass to tell her.  I find out that she is not going.  It is now me and most my family.  I find it weird how that worked out, since I would have not even thought of it if not for her.

So, when I got back from mass on Saturday, I got changed and ready to go.  We left the house around 10:00am and arrived around 10:30am.  There were tons of kids stuff going on; it was all the blow-up bouncing things you could care to ever play in, including a rock wall and a bungy thing.  The girls (just out of 2nd and 5th grade) were in heaven.  Music started when the gates opened at 10:00am.  I did the bungy thing, it was a blast (even though at first I did not want to for some odd reason).  Throughout the morning and afternoon we would go back to our “base camp” that we set up on the field where we would sit for all the artists and bands playing all day (we got a decent spot) to sit for a bit and eat something or just rest.  They girls definitely had a blast with all the stuff they had set up there.

On the flip side, the concert.  That was the part I wanted to be there for the most.  All the artists were really good and led beautiful praise and worship in their unique ways.  Go Fish was there; they are more of kids band.  The girls seemed to like them, though it was pulling teeth to get them to dance.  We ended up getting three of their CDs for them.  I hope they will listen to them often.  When it came time for the last three artists/bands, they did participate a bit more in dancing with the music.  It was amazing and beautiful.  I stood through much of those last three, definitely standing through all of Casting Crowns (closers).  It that, I dance with both of the girls.  I even stood with one in front of me, my arms around her, swaying during one of the slower songs.  There is also a picture with dad and the girls raising their arms in praise as the artist who was up there told everyone to do.  One of the girls told me on the way out that she liked Casting Crowns.  That made me smile big since they are my favorite!

Now at home, looking back on that day.  It was something I never would have expected for some reason.  Between the games and the music, especially the music, the day was great.  Being able to enjoy the music I love while dancing and swaying and fooling around with my little sisters was a blessing that came from nowhere.  Then again, it must have come from God.  I thank Him for that time there.  It also happened to come at a time when I really needed to be energized by a large group of people praising and worshiping with some of the best leaders of it around.  It inspired me again and brought me some new life.  Praise God!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 13, 2011 in Random Things, Retreat Experience

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
