RSS

Not Afraid Anymore

09 Jun

While waiting for Nicole to pick me up so we can hang out for the afternoon, I turned the television station to one that plays contemporary christian music.  One song had just ended and the next one began to play.

I said I belonged to you
But in a secret room
I kept a secret list
I said anything for you
Anything but this
Anything but this
You knew it all along
You knew it very well
You knew the sturdy walls I hid behind were nothing but a prison cell

(chorus)
I am not afraid any more
You have opened all the windows
Opened all the doors
I am not afraid any more
I fell the wind of freedom like I never did before
But I have spent the hours dancing on the floor
I am not afraid any more

 You have always been the same
I ran away from you
I ran away from you
Every time you called my name
I tried to hide the truth
I tried to hide the truth
You knew it all along
You knew it very well
You knew the more I covered up my heart
The more I didn’t know myself

(chorus)

No room for fear
No room
No room
No room for fear
perfect love is living here

(chorus)
(fade out)

 This song immediately as it started to play, sounded familiar.  I look at the screen then laughed a little.  I was told a while back that I needed to listen to this song by Marianne, one of my companions.  Right when the song started playing, I was getting lost in my head with all the fears.  God is very funny!  When I got to the car when my friend showed up, I was smiling and laughing about the song. 🙂

Really though, when I think about it a little more, I realize that I have to let go of some of those fears that I have.  If I do that, then I can be more open to the ways that God is working in my life, whether in the form of Father, Son, or Holy Spirit.  So much of this song at some point in my life has been true.  I really need to take the inspiration of the song in my heart.  God, help me not be afraid!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 9, 2011 in Inner Reflection, Inspirational Music

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Not Afraid Anymore

  1. Dom

    June 9, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Thanks for sharing Ash, this is an awesome song!

     

Leave a Reply

 
