RSS

Issues with Clothes?

03 Jun

As usual I woke up this morning and showered, went to mass, and came back to change into sweats.  It was a pleasant morning, especially with the addition of adoration this morning.  As time went by, I decided that I wanted to eat lunch.  Dad suggested that we go out to eat for lunch.  Here is where the interesting part came in.

I went downstairs to change into something other than scrubs.  All that I have been wearing outside of my uniform and pajamas has been shorts and a basic tee-shirt you get with anything you are involved with.  I thought maybe, even though we just went to a malt shop, I would not look like a high school kid or a college student.  (If you don’t know it, we are under no obligation to wear our uniform as aspirants going for a home visit)  In my closest hangs some of the skirts I love to wear.  I could pair them with a cute shirt, or one of my tee-shirts.  Then, I got confused and wondered if maybe I should just stick with the shorts and tee-shirt.  In the end, it was my jean shorts as usual and my green Don Bosco shirt.

Does this mean anything in my discernment process?  Most likely not.  It may just be the tricks I play on myself.  I could view it as a good thing that I was able to feel the weirdness of wearing something nicer, being used to wearing a uniform.  I am okay wearing normal clothes while home.

So why is this something I feel like sharing.  I have been trying to really imagine my life in a habit.  The path I feel God is calling me on right now means wearing a habit for the rest of my life.  It is very interesting to try to picture oneself and what you would be wearing in the future.  That really shouldn’t be something to worry about.  In the end, if we are doing what God wants us to do, then what else matters?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2011 in Living Salesian

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Issues with Clothes?

  1. Betsy Joy

    June 3, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    It’s an interesting thing to think about. I’ve been in a lot of conversations about the religious habit and does it play a part in discernment. In my personal experience it is important because the way you dress says something about who you are. However I don’t think it is the be all end all of discernment. There are many factors that play into discerning and it’s going to be different for every person but the most important thing is discovering God’s will for your life.

     
  2. Anne Varberg

    June 3, 2011 at 11:51 pm

    “Consider the lilies of the field…”
    With so much to consider during your discernment, I think you’re right that this is something to consider carefully.

     

Leave a Reply

 
