RSS

Dancing

14 Apr

As most of you know, I love dancing and wish I had neer given it up for sports, though I would not give up the time I spent in sports.  Well, short version of a story first.  Then the slightly longer one.

I say all the time that I miss dancing and wish I had kept up with it. God says here you go. I am like…whoa, only a few days of practicing and this is not the easiest thing when it has been a while. God replies, it is not that bad really, you can do it. I leave the first practice I was at, where the student caught me up, thinking…oh my goodness, but I did ask for it I guess. Mary, please help me!

Basically, whenever I see people dancing as I once did, I wish I was with them and had continued lessons so that I would be better as time went on.  In my heart I am always dancing.  I hear a song and I want to dance to it, to sing, to be creative.  When I went in to help with the music class after lunch yesterday, the two students were finishing up practicing.  I commented to them about how good it look and that I once danced, so it made me smile to see them and mad me miss it a little.  The one who choreographed the dance and was teaching the other said something about dancing with them.  I was like, I don’t think so really.

Today, Sister came to me and asked if I wanted to do it.  Of course, I had not expected it.  I stuttered an I don’t know.  If you were to know who I am talking about, the “I don’t know” does not work when next Thursday is the prayer service this is a part of.  It ended with the can do it with either one or three dancers and there is only two right now with a maybe for a third.  She suggested that I come and see it at least.  That being said, I ate really fast what I could in two minutes and ran off to the chapel.  The moment I walked in, the student who created the dance said something along the lines of “good, you are going to dance with us!?”  That was it.  I was told there was no third person, so I would do it.  It is a two and a half minute dance, which is more dancing than one thinks.  She showed me the whole dance (minus the few small parts she still has to figure out) during second lunch.  Now…I have minimal time to remember it and practice.  Mary Help of Christians, help this poor soul remember her dancing body and do the best possible.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2011 in Dance, Random Things

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Dancing

  1. vitaconsecrata

    April 14, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    that sounds like so much fun! i’m sure you’ll do great…and even if you think you didn’t do well, i know God will certainly be pleased!

     
  2. vitaconsecrata

    April 14, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    ryc: I have. I have decided I’m going to visit. That’s about as far as I’ve gotten. LOL.
    I’m kinda in a slump right now and for very selfish reasons don’t want to actively pursue for the rest of this year…at least until after August when I have my big 3-0!
    I just want to be able to soak up as much family time as possible…and I’m still so far away from where I need to be. I know that He is continuing to work on my heart and my desires while I’m here, but I do feel as though I’ve taken a few steps backwards in regards to the passion and desire I once had.
    I’m fairly certain though, that when I come visit, it will come right back! 🙂

     
    • vitaconsecrata

      April 14, 2011 at 4:21 pm

      I posted this as a reply to your comment on my blog too. But I figured you’re more likely to see it here than there.

       

Leave a Reply

 
