RSS

T’was The Night Before Lent

08 Mar

T’was the night before Lent

All my strength hath been spent

Then came along this one desire

Do something else to light the fire

It is not but another Lenten year

And life still holds much fear

Who can say when I will go

How much knowledge I will know

This I hear ringing in my head

With Jesus I am to be fed

But then the clatter once again

My life is not something to bargain

So this night before Lent does start

What is my sacrifice from the heart

Pray I must now to heaven above

So I can show greater love

As I sit here tonight, which the complete intention of doing my homework, I can not help but let my mind drift off to thinking of what I am doing for Lent.  Yes, I always hold off to the last moment.  Sure, I am giving up all sweets on account of that is what we do here in the house.  There are so many things that one could do for Lent, but I want to do something that means a little more than giving up food or Facebook or such things.  I want to do more than adding just another rope prayer into my day.  The prayer and hope I have is that when meditation comes around, God will inspire me to what shall be for me this Lent.

Have you thought seriously enough about what God is calling you to do this Lent or have just picked something because it is challenging/easy or what everyone else is doing?

Who is Jesus to you and what is He worth in your life?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2011 in Creative Corner, Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “T’was The Night Before Lent

  1. vitaconsecrata

    March 9, 2011 at 7:10 am

    For weeks now I have been saying that I’m giving up my computer for lent. I use the computer here at work where I could do all my catching up on blogs and such, but facebook and twitter are not accessible through work. Both those sites are available on my phone however.
    Last night though, as I was seriously weighing this decision and exactly what it means for me to give it up completely, I realized that it’s a HUGE sacrifice…not that He’s not worth it because He totally is…but I wasn’t so sure that’s what He wanted me to do.
    We worked out a compromise. I think more than anything than me giving stuff up, He wants me to spend more time with Him…and I tend to agree. So on top of giving up all soda (which for me is no easy feat), I’m also going to give up morning computer time. That means that before 12 is quiet time spent with Him (when I’m home) reading or praying.
    I need to keep reminding myself: discipline. 🙂
    P.S. Prayers are requested: I’m going down to visit the order this weekend!

     
    • Ash

      March 9, 2011 at 8:24 am

      Prayers sent your way! As I was meditating this morning, I came to a similar conclusion as what I have done times before. Spending more time with Jesus, with God. How it comes will be inspired in me as the days go on. Thank you for replying and for the inspiration you have given me. Enjoy your visit!

       

Leave a Reply

 
