RSS

Music of the Soul

25 Jan

The melody, it sings

The harmony, it rings

The music, it brings

 

All of my heart

And all of my soul

Down to my knees

With praises so full

 

Sweet songs pierce the air

Filled with love and care

The music brings Jesus there

 

To all of my heart

And all of my soul

Down to my knees

With praises so full

 

All else is stripped away

There’s music to play

I am left only to pray

 

With all of my heart

And all of my soul

Down to my knees

With praises so full

 

Oh music, harmonies

Fill me with praise

Through music

Music of the soul

 

Now that you have read through this, I want to share with you the little I can of what is inside of me about this song and how I imagine it to be.  There are two voices for sure (maybe more!), a piano, and some wind instruments.  I was thinking maybe flute, oboe, clarinet.  There was also the thought of soft drumming, bongos maybe, but I have not got that far.

The first line, one voice.  Add the second voice in on the second line.  Add in instruments during the third line.  Piano can play lightly, not too many things, to start with the one voice.  The refrain is all that there is playing and singing.  Second verse is just beautifully done with such passion, dropping some instruments.  Refrain is again full and filled with life.  Into the third verse we reverse that of the first in some respects.  A little fuller in the first line, drifted to two voices in the second line, finally solo voice in the third line.  Piano continual, can drop a few notes here or there.  The final refrain is not as lively as the others, all voices are there, a bit more calm.  Two or three wind instruments stick around.  Into the ending, the wind instruments fade one by one.  Piano fades as well.  All voices are singing.  A little drumming may continue.  The last line singers only.

This is what I have in my head, roughly.  It needs work and altering.  It also needs someone who can bear with me and make sense onto paper the things I feel in my heart and soul.  Take it or leave it, but gain something from it.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 25, 2011 in Creative Corner

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Music of the Soul

  1. Ash

    January 26, 2011 at 8:22 am

    After having slept on it some, I am now hearing something a little different for what could be done outside of the voices and the piano. Oh how an artists mind is never made up!

     

Leave a Reply

 
