RSS

You Are Beautiful

20 Jan

As I was searching through blogs that I follow, I came across someone who posted a song that hit me kind of hard and reminded me of a time my freshman year of college.

I wrote a poem on my mission trip my freshman year.  It was all about how I never heard the words “you are beautiful” or of the like from anyone.  The group I was traveling with was not getting along all the best all the time, so it kind of provoke the poem along.  This poem I never showed anyone.  Ash Wednesday was about a couple of weeks after we got back from the mission trip.  A couple of friends saw me crying that day.  One the next night insisted we talked.  After a long conversation of her sharing with me to make me more open to talking to her, it ended in a way that caught me off guard.  She said three things to me, then made me repeat them about myself.  The first of which was “you are beautiful.”  When I got back to my dorm, I could not believe it.  God answered a prayer that was not really prayed, but still in my heart.  The other things she told me were “your are wonderful” and “your are loved beyond comparison.”  I still say each of those each night, as well as the other prayers I say in the evening. 

Having shared that, this is what was going through my mind as I listened to this song.  It is also why I got really excited when I realized I have it on my iPod.  I hope you enjoy this song and find some important meaning in it for you.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2011 in Inner Reflection, Inspirational Music

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “You Are Beautiful

  1. Vita Consecrata

    January 21, 2011 at 7:28 am

    🙂
    You ARE beautiful. We all are. God created us a masterpiece…even when others try to convince us otherwise.

     
  2. Ash

    January 21, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    Thank you. I hope we can meet soon! Look up happynun on wordpress.

     

Leave a Reply

 
