RSS

Do You Know the Answer?

05 Oct

The other day I was posed with a question.  It was as such, “who are you?”  Much to my surprise, I was unable to come up with an answer, or even a partial one.  While most people responded with “a child of God,” or some related answer, I drew a blank.  Yes I am a child of God, but that answer was not one that snuck up in my mind at first thought.  This leads me to wonder.  Do I really know and feel truly who I am?

Our lives are filled with many things, but lets begin here.  There are lots of people in the world who define themselves by what they do, how they dress, and such related things.  Those things may express who we are but are not the definition of who we are.  We can get so wrapped up in worrying about those material things, or making sure we are “the best” at everything.  Of course it is good to do our best, but we do not have to be the best.  Either way, it should not define who we are.  I would not say I am a poet, I am dancer, I am such and such…those are outlets for me.

While others may know who we are, we are not defined by others.  I feel that this one is esspecially important to remember here in my days of formation.  A lot of who I am, whoever that may be, is being challenged.  There are always opinions around about you and always someone who will not like what you are doing, how you are doing things, where you are doing things, and you see my point.  I am seeing that we tend to let that overtake us.  While it is important to listen to the thoughts of others because there may be something of value there, we must also be aware that we still need to hold our own to some degree and not become what someone else thinks we should be.  There is a fine line in all of this, one I feel is tred upon quite often here.  There is still that search for balance. 

Ever feel like you live multiple lives with a couple different sets of personalities.  It is quite interesting.  While I may not be “crazy” in the way one would define someone of this nature, I do have the sense of this at times in my life.  This is where a big portion of teh struggle of “who am I” comes into play.  Surely a child of God is in the definition, but beyond that.  How do we really balance ourselves?  What do we do with the bad part of ourselves that we all have lurking away somewhere?  We need to focus on what we think God wants us to be.  So then we just circle back around to answering “who are you?”  Thus we end up withthe same answer.  A Child of God.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 5, 2010 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Do You Know the Answer?

  1. kcmayrie

    October 5, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    We are all children of God…but in formation, we are truly being formed from our old selves into new selves. Just like you can not put new wine into old wine skins, lest they burst and the wine ends on the ground, so too, you are an old wine skin being remade into something new, so that your service, your love, your dedication, can be truly valuable and profitable.

    You are putting on Christ, daily, walking in His steps and serving His children…All in love.

     

Leave a Reply

 
