RSS

Receive the Power

27 Sep

I was just thinking of my World Youth Day experience in 2008 in Australia then decided to look up the song on YouTubethat was our theme.  It was called “Recieve the Power.”

VERSE 1
Every nation, every tribe,
come together to worship You.
In Your presence we delight:
we will follow
to the ends of the earth.

CHORUS
Alleluia, Alleluia!
Receive the power, from the Holy Spirit!
Alleluia, Alleluia!
Receive the power to be a light unto the world.

VERSE 2
As Your Spirit calls to rise
we will answer and do Your will.
We’ll forever testify
of Your mercy and unfailing love.

REPEAT CHORUS

BRIDGE
Lamb of God, we worship you.
Holy one, we worship you.
Bread of Life, we worship you.
Emmanuel, we worship you.
Lamb of God, we worship you.
Holy one, we worship you.
Bread of life, we worship you.
Emmanuel, we will sing forever:

REPEAT CHORUS

Isn’t this song so beautiful?  I loved hearing it so much as we walked all over the place in Syndey.  Listening to it again as I sit her thinking of what to write about brings back so many memories.  If I remember correctly, it was the first time anyone I knew had appraoched me about the religious life.  Sure, I may have been open to all vocations before that, but never really had someone asked me about it. 

In general this song brings it all back to the core of things.  Everyone coming together to worship the Lord and follow Him for as long as we live.  When we hear the call from God because Jesus died for us, through the Holy Spirit…we must rise and do the will that we are called to do. 

So pertaining that to religious life, it is possible and very much there.  Of course this song would take on different meaning for different people.  For me it is a reminder of the constant prayer, praise, worship, and sacrifice that must be made in the name of the Lord.  That does come in some reason, that is.  No one has to understand me and believe me.  That would be a great help if I were allowed to share my side, which I am not, but that is another story.  Anyways, it just resonates with me and where I am now as a reminder of what life is all about.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 27, 2010 in Inner Reflection, Inspirational Music

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
