RSS

“Why would you do that?”

31 Aug

Many times they ask us, “Why would you do that, give up your life for this?”  They say give up your life refering to having a family and a well paying job.  People also make the event of entering something of this big deal and way out of the ordinary.  There is an unsaid ackwardness that comes, too, from mentioning you aspire to be a vowed religious.  People like me can be set apart.

Am I really giving up the things of life?  Absolutely not! I do not see this as others tend to see things.  This choice to enter the formation program with the Salesians is just the next step on my journey to Christ.  Sure it is a huge life change, but isn’t marriage the same way?  Nothing feel different about my life and in all reality it should not.  We will continue to learn things about ourselves and others, but our life is not drastically different.  It is the choices we make with the life that we have and how we want to live it.

So why am I here doing this.  It landed in my heart via some odd experiences and turn of events.  It just seemed where I should head even with all the struggles in my life.  I really am not completely sure why I have ended up here but I am trusting as best as I can that this is right.  All we can do is pray and live each day as if it is the last one, knowing that God loves you.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 31, 2010 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to ““Why would you do that?”

  1. Julie Kleist

    August 31, 2010 at 11:20 am

    Very Well written and we support you in whatever path you life takes you. We love you very much. Our prayers are with you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
