RSS

Longing for Rich Soil

23 Jul

On that day, Jesus went out of the house and sat down by the sea.  Such large crowds gathered around him that he got into a boat and sat down, and the whole crowd stood along the shore.  And he spoke to them at length in parables, saying: “A sower went out to sow. And as he sowed, some seed fell on the path, and birds came and ate it up. Some fell on rocky ground, where it had little soil. It sprang up at once because the soil was not deep, and when the sun rose it was scorched, and it withered for lack of roots. Some seed fell among thorns, and the thorns grew up and choked it. But some seed fell on rich soil, and produced fruit, a hundred or sixty or thirtyfold. Whoever has ears ought to hear.”

Matthew 13:1-13

This was the bible passage my table had on my TEC (HV 55) retreat for parable skits.  It has always stood to me for different reasons at different points in life.  The explanation that Jesus gives explains that that each seed dropped on the ground correlates to how someone lives in there faith and excitement they have.

For me at times, each time the seed stands as representative of me and my faith.  The different ground types are the situations that I find myself in.  When at the retreat center, I found myself in rich soil more often that I have ever been in rich soil in ages.  Now, where I am at now, rich soil is not as common.  It is hard to find the rich soil when you are so far away from that which makes one feel most enriched.  How do you find that place of enrichment?

While the seed of my faith have been planted in rich soil, I have always felt that there is better field of soil for me out there.  That the flowers grow bigger and more beautiful then they are.  This is not to say that I should enter formation, but rather through being in formation and God-willingly continuing in that life, I should attain the greater and more beautiful in a the rich soil of Christ’s love.

With this being said, I request prayers as I transition from my time at the retreat center to starting the first day of the rest of my life when I fly out to the Salesians.  Thank you!  Peace!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 23, 2010 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
