RSS

Affirming the Discerning

03 Jul

It has been a while since I have posted, as things have been staying quite busy.  Right now I have just one week left at the Marianist Family Retreat Center in Cape May Point, NJ (look it up!).  It is sad that my time is nearly to an end.  My last retreat is coming up and it may be a little emotional being I am hitting the road the day after it ends back to Minnesota.  God has done, is doing, and will do great things.

There are themed days on the week: welcoming, communication, forgiveness, affirmation, commitment, and commissioning.  On Commitment day, something really hit me.  During a part of the service, the families share their commitments to each other and to the world in front of all of us on the retreat.  The parents go first and share their commitments to each other, renewing what they had at marriage.  They they invite the kids up and continue.  While the couples were sharing, each time a couple came up, I thought it so beautiful their love for each other.  How wonderful to have that!  I was thinking how that is something I really want in my life and how wonderful it would be to have it like them.  Then, I also had this feeling of it is not for me as much as I could ever want it.  It was truly an affirmation that taking the step to go into formation with the Salesians is the right thing to do even if it does not work out that way. 

There is so much on my heart and in my mind right now, but I don’t want to overload with a long post, nor do I really have the words to express.  These next days, maybe weeks, and even possibly months, are going to be emotional ones and very energy draining.  I just pray for strength and wisdom through it all.  Peace.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Affirming the Discerning

  1. Christian

    July 6, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    “I was thinking how that is something I really want in my life and how wonderful it would be to have it like them. Then, I also had this feeling of it is not for me as much as I could ever want it.”

    I think a woman’s vocation to the celibate life is the same as a man’s: the Church expects that you will want the married life (which we are designed to want), yet for the love of God you are willing to give it up.

     

Leave a Reply

 
