RSS

A Visit to the Convent!

15 Jun

I was very lucky to be able to sneak away and go up the parkway to visit the Salesian Sisters this past weekend.  It was very good to be there again.  There was lots of work as well as lots of fun and the chance to meet one person who is entering with me then some others considering it.  The weekend was definitely packed full.

Friday I left right after work to head out for the weekend.  It was a long day of work then driving from 5:00pm to 7:40pm.  Uneventful as it was, it was so great to pull up to the convent.  I can not even say how great it was to see Sister Colleen again!  With her was Jen, someone else who has been in discernment.  From the start, we hit it off real well!  We certainly could not stop talking and it was amazing.  Sr. Colleen found me some food to eat since I have not eaten.  While finishing dinner, Jen and I were talking so much that Sr. Colleen and Brigette could not get us to help pick a movie to watch!  It was quite funny I must say.  It was finally decided that we would watch “Inkheart”  It was a very good movie, but at times we most definitely found ourselves distracted.  Soon after the movie had ended, another person came, Ericka.  She was a blast too!  Bed was in order, after we stopped chattering.

Saturday came.  Prayers that day were at 6:40.  It was very good to be in a place of prayer with many others with a common interest.  Prayer was followed by breakfast.  Of course, I drank some hot water.  The three of us visiting sat at a yellow round table and caused trouble.  Our morning consisted of setting things up for the next day.  The sisters were getting ready for the family day.  We put out table cloths, plates, cups, napkins, utensils, and flowers.  It was a lot of walking back and forth, but everything looked real nice.  Sister Kim told Sr. Colleen that we could go out and get lunch.  Her, Jen, Ericka, Brigette, Sr. Ramona (I hope I spelled that right!) and I all went out to this grill place down the round.  It was yummy.  I had a bacon cheeseburger (yay bacon!).  Jen and Ericka and I were causing so much trouble again, it was great fun!  After lunch, we were assigned to the pool room.  That was a disgusting place but when the three of us were done, it was amazing!  We celebrated by going and jumping on the trampoline and taking a dip in the pool!  I even got to have a set of keys to use, since we were on our own.  After booking it back to get changed, there were evening prayers, dinner, taboo, and music practice for the next day.  Jen and I both stayed up a bit, but did get to bed.

Sunday we did not have to be up at any particular time, only to be at mass at 11 for the beginning of the family day.  Those helping with music had to be there at 10 to warm up and such.  I was given Sr. Colleen’s phone and keys and waited to let the girls from Illinois into the house when they arrive.  Megan was the head of the crew coming; she came with Rebecca (who was back for a surprise visit) and three other girls coming to check it out.  When they arrived, I booked it back to mass, all I missed was up through the very beginning of the first reading.  After mass I went back and got the girls, and we went down to the lunch.  There was a lot of people there, but it was good.  I was glad to have finally seen Megan face to face.  In the gym there was a blow up jump thing and I helped out with it for 30 minutes, it was kind of fun.  After the whole thing was over, I helped Sr. Ramona with the food and the others helped clean up the lunch room.  When all was said and done, the five of them and I went up to jump on the trampoline and swim in the pool.  We ended up driving there but walking back.  Since prayers were on our own, when we got back we made dinner of french toast and scrambled omelets.  It was good.  We all took a stop at the small chapel to say prayers on our own of what we wanted to do.  Megan and I stayed up until 11pm talking and sharing stories.  I realized as I was sharing mine, I was beaming like crazy!  That was so reassuring to me.  Bed was much needed.  After some struggle to sleep, I finally dozed off.

Monday, another pack filled day only with prayers at 5:40 that time.  Prayers and breakfast as usual.  We did basically this: sorted through camp stuff, moved camp stuff, moved tables and chairs, and inventoried shirts of many colors.  I had a bit of a meltdown before lunch, but when after lunch was over I was still in the small chapel, Megan came and found me.  We talked for a little then she helped me get something to eat.  That girl is a sweetheart, we are going to get along.  In the afternoon I ended up napping for 45 min while the others helped Sister Marisole (I know I am spelling that one wrong) with some things in her classroom.  After that, it was time to jump on the trampoline and then swim for a brief moment in the pool.  Prayers and dinner follow per usual.  Sad part was when I had to leave right after dinner.

As I was driving home I was think of my life.  All the dots of things that have occurred have been starting to get connected by lines in my mind, leading up to the here and now.  This, I shall talk about later.  All I know is that this visit to see the sisters was the perfect thing for me, even if I left bumped and scratched and physically tired.  We worked hard, played hard, laughed hard, prayed hard, and bonded like crazy.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2010 in Inner Reflection, Living Salesian

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “A Visit to the Convent!

  1. cathy lynn

    June 15, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    It sounds WONDERFUL! Thank you for sharing Ash!

     
  2. pianofyre

    July 6, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    That was a fun weekend Ashley…even if I was continually doused with water!

     

Leave a Reply

 
