RSS

Accepted!

24 May

God is great all the time, all the time God is great!

Friday I found out that I am officially accepted to enter formation with the Salesian Sisters of Saint John Bosco!  Let me tell you, I am so excited about this!  I don’t even know really what to say next.  Anything could burst out from me or maybe just a smile will shine on my face!

Weekend before Thanksgiving at NCYC 2009 I met two aspirants in the bathroom.  Second half of Thanksgiving weekend I spent time with the Salesian Sisters in North Haledon.  That week after my heart and soul were racing and I was so excited about my visit and how I was feeling.  I talked for two hours of a two and a half hour conversation with my friend.  I e-mailed Sister Colleen about how I was freaking out and talking like a crazy person.  She ended up visiting that Thursday, with an application, in the little amount of time that I had to visit that day (as we were prepping for a retreat).  Crazy.  After a couple more visits and many many many conversations I got the application filled out and turned in the weekend of Palm Sunday, that Monday, when Sister Colleen came down to visit my family (who were visiting me) and me.  Then this Friday I found out I can enter near the end of August.  It is surely one of the most awesome things in my life!

How long have I know who the Salesian Sisters are before I get accepted? 6 Months!

How long will I have known about the Salesians before I show up to enter? 8 Months!

Does God do things how He wants to do them?  That is for sure!

I don’t know what God is going to continue to do with me, but I am very excited about this journey I am about to embark on.  Religious life is a beautiful thing and it has always intrigued me.  Now I get a chance to be a part of that life as I make my way through formation.  Please pray for me in this journey as I continue to share it with all of you!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2010 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Accepted!

  1. Betsy

    May 24, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    YAY!!!!!!!!!!!! God is amazing! 😀 I’m so happy for you!! I will surely be praying for you. ❤
    JMJ+

     
  2. Br. Paul Chu, SDB

    May 24, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    Congratulations on your acceptance! It is a great blessings!! 🙂

    I’ve known Sister Colleen for a few years now. She’s quite an energetic and joyful sister who’s definitely filled with the Holy Spirit!

    Happy Feast of Mary Help of Christians! May Mary guide you always to the heart of Jesus in the young!

    -Br. Paul Chu, SDB

     
  3. Christian

    May 25, 2010 at 9:12 am

    A great day.

     
  4. Father Tony VanderLoop

    May 27, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Ashley,

    Congratulations and God be with you in this exciting time of your life!

    Father Tony VanderLoop

     
  5. tiny bird

    June 2, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    I hope this next stage of your journey will be a growthful, exciting adventure that leads you to your heart’s deepest desire 🙂

     
  6. Susan Windley-Daoust

    June 6, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    Hi Ashley, I just checked in to your blog to see if you had heard, and ta-dah! Congrats! I wish you blessings on this part of the journey!

     
  7. Ash

    May 5, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    Reading this again reminds me of the pure excitement I had upon being able to enter. I am glad I stumbled on this post! It is good to read how I was feeling then. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
