RSS

Verse From A Hero

10 May

“We are often troubled, but not crushed; sometimes in doubt, but never in despair; there are many enemies but we are never without a friend; and though badly hurt at times, we are not destroyed”

“For this reason we never become discouraged…For we fix our attention, not on things that are seen, but on thing that are unseen.”

2 Corinthians 4:7-9, 16a, 18a

This passage was given to me as you see it from Jessica, our program director at the retreat center, after a rough weekend emotionally.  Due to not wanting to make public completely my personal life, I can tell you just this.  Jessica and I ended up talking on Sunday after the teens left the retreat center from their retreat.  We talked for a bit over two hours, two hours!  The conversation revealed nearly everything about me.  With some insights given to me on link to the retreat center, I am stepping outside the box and doing what a lot of my friends wish me to do.  The time that Jessica gave me was one of the greatest things someone could have given me this weekend.  As the theme for this past retreat was “Unlikely Heroes,” I can surely say Jessica is on my hero list, even before the weekend.

This verse that she gave me, it is one of my new favorites now.  I highlighted it in my bible, though the translation she used is much better than the one that I have.  “Never without a friend” is a line that is different.  This passage gives me hope that we can all make it through whatever we encounter in life.  To me, it also continues to prove to us that life is not going to be easy.  We are going to encounter many hard and difficult things, but with God we will not be crushed.

“We are often troubled, but not crushed; sometimes in doubt, but never in despair; there are many enemies but we are never without a friend; and though badly hurt at times, we are not destroyed”

“For this reason we never become discouraged…For we fix our attention, not on things that are seen, but on thing that are unseen.”

2 Corinthians 4:7-9, 16a, 18a

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 10, 2010 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
