RSS

Having Life

01 May

Surfing blogs really can give you some inspiration on what to write about.  I came across this blog and decided I wanted to write on the bible verse in it.  As you noticed, the link is there to give credit to where I found inspiration.

“You search the scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; and it is they that testify on my behalf.  Yet you refuse to come to me to have life.”  John 5:39-40

So many people get so stuck in just the bible and forget that there is a personal relationship to be had with Jesus as well.  Don’t get me wrong, I think reading scripture is very important.  For me, I should read it more as I don’t really do it.  That is not the point though.  Read scripture or not, that is not the way to have life.  It did not take a bible verse for me to believe that; the bible verse just helps my point.  Again, don’t get me wrong.  Scripture is good too, just not the way to have life.

Where I want to go with this, I am not completely sure.  I do know that this quote really stood out to me.  Read scripture, that’s great.  Don’t forget to take time to pray and come to have life by going to Jesus.  He, with the Father and Holy Spirit, will guide you where you are to have fullness of life.  It is okay to question, people do doubt in the world sadly.  The human race is weak on their own.

Don’t let those who want to bash you over the head with a bible get the best of you.  Don’t let those who forget the bible lead you astray.  Have life in Jesus and read about Him.  Be true and keep on searching, the search never stops.  Be unlike the people Jesus is talking about in that bible passage, go to Him to have life.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 1, 2010 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Having Life

  1. Christian

    May 3, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    And of course it was only the Old Testament they were search; the New wasn’t written yet.

     

Leave a Reply

 
