RSS

Fire

22 Apr

There is something magical and special about a fire, one in the form of a “campfire.”  I don’t have much to say about it, but I know that I always long to be back at camp.  One of the big things in that is the longing to be around the campfire.  Since the lessons and stories of fire are on my mind, I have decided to share that all with you.  Below is a poem I just constructed on the whim of my mind.  I hope you find something that draws to you in it! Peace

Oh fire that crackles in the silence of the night

Speak to me even when I am in blinded sight

There are lessons a plenty to be taught

The wisdom that comes through the ages sought

Stories dance in the air around us lingering

Song that will go on forever in our hearts singing

As the past fades away in the dust of eternity

Present pushes on and it closes engulfs me

In the flames the future flickers with hope

Unsure of where flame will leap I pray I cope

Wherever you may be, whoever you will become

There is space for fire, it will still teach you some

Evermore the silence of the night draws my soul

Hearing the glow intrigues me and fills me full

In the moments to come where life finds its way

My vocation religious could maybe be here to stay

When the world crashes and falls around my face

To the fire I will go to be in that special place

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 22, 2010 in Creative Corner, Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Fire

  1. Cathy lynn

    May 1, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    From my girl guide days and from my days on camps with my family, some of the most happiest memories happened around the camp fire, where the love was felt in the songs, that joined us together as one voice. Thank you for reminding me of that happy memory! And the most wonderful of all, finding God and the trinity at Camp Columbia, and learning my early christian theology from those same songs, with the fire of the spirit within, mirroring the flames.

     

Leave a Reply

 
