RSS

Know Him, Know Him More

20 Apr

Casting Crowns is most days my favorite band ever; I love their music and it has always reached me in a special way.   There is a portion of some lyrics that go as so.

To know You is to want to know You more.

It was not until I saw them in concert a little over a week ago that I really took a moment to soak up this line.  In the talk that Mark Hall (lead singer) gave, he said it again slightly different and it hit me.

To know Him is to want to know Him more.

Wow…what a profound thing to hear, take to heart, and ponder.  Something about it strikes me, but I can not completely put it to words.  It seems that this idea should be in our faith always.

What thoughts, questions, ideas, comments, and anything else come to mind when you read this?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2010 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Know Him, Know Him More

  1. kkollwitz

    April 21, 2010 at 8:59 am

    “To know Him is to want to know Him more.”

    Well put. In my parish family, I can point to those who have got this ball rolling enough to learn more about God on their own. Seems like the problem is to get interested, and know enough, to want to know more. It’s like a hump that many people can’t get over. There’s a lot of inertia to deal with.

     
  2. Ash

    April 21, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    That is a well put phrase, which is why I wished to share it withe everyone. I agree with what you consider the problem. Once people know things, it draws them in to really want to know more. The more we dig deeper, the closer we come to finding our vocation in life. The question then lies, how do we get people to starting knowing and discovering?

     
    • Christian

      April 21, 2010 at 9:06 pm

      “The question then lies, how do we get people to starting knowing and discovering?”

      It’s hard to spark adults…it always seems to have to come from within them. With kids, it’s easier; I say that as a former RCIA/ Adult Ed teacher and lately a 6th grade catechist. back in 2008 I said something about the problem here:

      http://platytera.blogspot.com/2008/11/barney.html

       
  3. Ash

    April 21, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Christian – I read your post and see that it is what I write about now. I take from it that we need to start at a young age, so that they will always continue to want to know more. This is something that I have come across in many conversations and classes (I am a pastoral and youth ministry major). We have our ways of reaching young minds, but we really need to develop a way to reach adults.

     

Leave a Reply

 
