RSS

Triduum Retreat

04 Apr

To preface, this was my first Triduum not at home.  First are my thoughts on the Holy Thursday experience I had.

When people arrived, it was a bit overwhelming.  My family left in the morning, so it was a bit weird having them go back home for Easter and me staying here away for the first time.  That being said, I was really excited for the retreat.

The thing that drew to me the most on Thursday was during the washing of the feet.  There were two boys on the retreat (age 11 and 13), and when it came around, one of them had to wash the feet of the other.  Whether or not they realized it, it seemed very meaningful to see them so that.

On Good Friday, I was particularly drawn to the Stations of the Cross that we did.  It was done from the point of view of Mary and her journey with Jesus.  I really loved doing them and being able read the part of Mary in my group.  There were some elements of the Passion reading and veneration that I missed about being in a parish, but the intimate setting was great too.

Holy Saturday was so relaxed with a lot of time of prep and also free time, as there is the whole retreat.  The Vigil service was great, again I missed the usual that I had done in all my years, but the intimate setting was great.  I am not sure I could explain how much it was a great service.

I loved the breakfast we had this morning!  It was really good, and I am stuffed.  Everyone left between 10:30 and 11:30.  This evening I went out to eat with the brothers.  It was a good experience.  Those guys are wonderful, that is for sure.  Now, I am off to play some cribbage!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 4, 2010 in Retreat Experience

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
