RSS

It’s Twins! Doubt and Faith!

23 Mar

Doubt is a pain too lonely to know that faith is his twin brother.  ~Kahlil Gibran

Doubt is to be uncertain, to lack confidence in, or to consider unlikely.

Faith is believing in another person, God, something which has no proof, or having complete trust.

Doubt and faith are twins.  This is something that one does not think of often.  They are complete opposites as we can see looking at the definitions.  Doubt is something that is in my mind quite often, more often than I like to think that it is.  With such big choices and discernment in my lap, accompanied by the healing I working on, who is not to doubt the great things God has planned.  Most of my life I have found myself not worth it and doubt.  Faith has always been a part of my life as well.  While we did not talk about it at home ever, I saw it in going to mass and helping out at church.

Doubt can be considered healthy at times.  It shows that we are seriously considering all sides of a story or possibility.  Now, while we doubt, we must also keep faith that what happens is what is supposed to happen.  God has a plan for us, in this we must have faith.  We can ask the questions, which is the doubt, but we cannot let that consume are being.  There is a balance in doubt and faith that must be achieved.  Never though, in all that, lose sight of God and what he has in store for you specifically.

As  have said many times…all I can do it to keep readying myself for formation (and hopefully finally turning in that application).  You have no idea, unless I talk to you often, the changes in my thoughts and feelings that I go through!  Boredom I tell you, is a dangerous thing.  It is where my doubts run far too wild.  That is when this quote comes in handy.  I need to keep faith right by my side when doubt comes in.  It is all going to work out!

How would you interpret this quote?

Doubt is a pain too lonely to know that faith is his twin brother.  ~Kahlil Gibran

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 23, 2010 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
