RSS

Even Jesus Prays, So Go Pray

05 Mar

As one may notice, I like to look up random faith quotes on the internet in my free time and share them, as well as how it may relate to my journey.  Here is another!

Virtues are formed by prayer. Prayer preserves temperance. Prayer suppresses anger. Prayer prevents emotions of pride and envy. Prayer draws into the soul the Holy Spirit, and raises man to Heaven. — St. Ephraem

Prayer is one of the most powerful weapons in our faith.  There are so many things that prayer can do in our life!  It can give praise, give thanksgiving, ask for help, ask for guidance, and so much more.  People have prayed since the day they started life on earth.  Even Jesus prayed, and he was divine!  He had fears, but he was able to lift it to his Father so that he may have the strength to do what needed to be done.

When we pray, we form the virtues and morals that will guide us through life.  Prayer helps us in ways we may not even be aware of.  Even just sitting with Jesus, adoration or in front of the tabernacle, in silence is prayer; being in the presence of Jesus is showing that we want to be one with him.  Drawing ourselves into prayer will lead us to heaven, isn’t that such a great reason to pray!?  Prayer can come in many forms, unique to each person.  As long as the Eucharist is the core, pray how prayer comes to you.

I find that as simple as the concept of praying is, I am not doing it very much these days.  We should always pray, no matter how easy or how hard life is.  I would always say that things are hard, so I must pray more.  In the end, now matter what, I need to pray more!  Of course, depending on what is going on in my life depends on how I will pray at a particular time.

For instance, right now the thing I am toying in my mind constantly is finishing my application and sending it in so I can hear officially back on entering formation for religious life.  There are the million of questions, I am envious at those who just know and know more surely, there are pressures all around me, I am far from friends and their love, there are all these things I fear giving up, I am all around an emotional mess.  The thing at the core that I continue to pray about is that I have the strength to handle what God gives me, as well as the response I make with it.  I could say so much more that may or may not be inspirational.  It would all be me, no question, but the only thing I have left is pray.  Pray it will all happen as it should and that we have the strength to go through with it.

So go pray, now.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2010 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Even Jesus Prays, So Go Pray

  1. Kent

    March 5, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    Prayer is powerful. We just have to remember to surrender our will and let His will be done, no matter the results. Prayer may not change our circumstances at the moment, but it will immediately change the way we look at them. When we pray, we aren’t praying for God to do our will, but for God to help make our will more like his.

    Just about to finish up a study on the Lord’s prayer on my blog, thought some of this might go along with your prayer post.

    Good work.

     
  2. Yvonne

    March 11, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Ash,

    What does this mean: “…being in the presence of Jesus is showing that want to be one with him.”?

    When one is born again in Christ aren’t they then His? If you are not His, then you are not a Christian. Jesus’ first command of His earthly ministry was to repent and believe the Gospel (Mark 1:15). If you have not done this, Ash, then please cry out to Jesus for your salvation (Jonah 3:8)! If you do not think you have the Spirit of the Living God living inside of you, then you are not saved (1 Corinthians 6:19)!

    If you have the Holy Spirit of God living inside of you, then Jesus is with you always (2 Corinthians 4:9)! You do not have to be “sitting with Jesus, adoration or in front of the tabernacle…”. He is everywhere (Acts 17:27), not just in a church.

    There is not ‘method’ of prayer that is correct or incorrect, right or wrong, better or worse. Speaking to Jesus, our High Priest (Hebrews 4:14) and intercessor (1 Tim. 2:15), however, must only be done out of a contrite spirit (Isa 66:2) and repentent heart (2 Cor. 7:10). And the Holy Spirit “…also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered. Now He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God.” (Romans 8:26-27)

    So, Ash, as Peter exhorts is his second letter, “…be even more diligent to make your call and election sure, for if you do these things you will never stumble; for so an entrance will be supplied to you abundantly into the everlasting kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.”
    (2 Peter 1:10-11) Grab your Bible and find a quiet corner and read; spend time with the Logos! (John 1:1-2 & 1 John 1)

    Yours, in Christ Jesus,
    Yvonne

     
    • Ash

      March 11, 2010 at 11:04 pm

      One is not born again in Christ, but rather born in Him in the first place. It is accepting that that we need to do. I agree there is no method to praying, but rather you just need to pray with right intentions and right heart. It is whatever way you feel that relationship with God that I would think is the best.

      I may not be able to quote the bible as crazily as you do…but I get it. I feel like you are looking down on me like religious education teachers do their kids in their class. I know the many ways I can find my closeness with God. For goodness sake, I am discerning religious life! So please, try not to be so preachy.

      Other than that, thank you for sharing.

       
  3. Yvonne

    March 24, 2010 at 8:01 am

    Sorry to sound preachy or to appear to look down on you. Truly, this is not my intention!

    From reading your posts you seem to be searching for truth and direction. Why don’t you look in the Scripture to find it? I’m just trying to point you in that direction knowing that that is where you will find ALL you need.

    The Apostle Peter tell us in his second Epistle, ‘…His divine power has given to us (Christians) all things that pertain to life and godliness…”.

    The fact the you claim to be ‘discerning religious life’ makes one think that you should know God’s Word, and yet you say you ‘may not be able to quote the bible as crazily as [I] do…’. If you plan to devote your life to God, shouldn’t you know Him through His Word?

    I’m not trying to argue, Ash! I really feel that you are in need of biblical guidance and no one seems to be offering that to you. Please prayerfully consider spending more time reading and studying God’s Word. May I suggest the Gospel of John or the book of Romans?

    Warm regards,
    Yvonne

     
    • Ash

      March 24, 2010 at 8:27 am

      I work at a retreat center, biblical passages are used all the time in the program. I do not have a knack for remembering or being able to quote. I know generally what is said in the bible being as I took classes in Theology. One does not need to be able to say bible verse after bible verse to devote life to God. It is more than the words on a page that draw someone into such a life of doing Gods will. whether married single or vowed religious. I read every now and then, but after spending a few years hating school and studying stuff from the bible, I need to step away and come back. If one thinks I should know the Word to enter, then they need to stop developing stereotypes about a person discerning vowed religious life. Besides, there are studies once a person enters.

       

Leave a Reply

 
