RSS

On My Honor

26 Feb

This is a song that may be familiar to some; it definitely one that I am familiar with.  Today while being the bored self that I can be, this song came to mind.  I am not sure who wrote the lyrics and music, but it is a Girl Scout song that I love.  It is called “On My Honor.”

Chorus :
On my honor, I will try.
There’s a duty to be done and I say aye.
There’s a reason here for a reason above.
My honor is to try and my duty is to love.

People don’t need to know my name.
If I’ve done any harm, then I’m to blame.
If I’ve helped another, then I’ve helped me.
And I’ve opened up my eyes to see.

Chorus

I’ve tucked away a song or two.
If you’re feeling low, there’s one for you.
If you need a friend, then I will come.
And there’s many more where I come from.

Chorus

[Friendship is the strangest thing
if you keep it to yourself, no reward will bring
but you gave it away, you gave it to me
and from now on great friends we’ll be]

Chorus

Come with me where the fire burns bright,
We can even see better by a candle’s light.
And we’ll find more meaning in a campfire’s glow,
Than we’ll ever learn in a year or so.

Chorus

We’ve a promise to always keep.
And to pray “Softly Falls” before we sleep.
We’ll be Girl Scouts together and when we’re gone,
We’ll still be trying and singing this song.

Chorus

The middle verse, which I place in brackets, is not one that I knew.  After having read it then singing it to myself, I decided it was surely worth keeping.  I find in the lyrics such basic, simple things of life that many people don’t bother to even think of.  There is a base element of singing these things and giving your honor on what you are promising and sharing to and with others.  Seeing the person that I am, I am going to take this apart a little.

People don’t need to know my name.
If I’ve done any harm, then I’m to blame.
If I’ve helped another, then I’ve helped me.
And I’ve opened up my eyes to see.

With many people, it is all about acknowledgment and being known for something that you did.  Even on the side of doing harm, somebody will always want to know your name and who you are.  When we have been harmed we wish to know who did it, but why?  So we can do revenge, so we can cause more harm?  If someone does harm to another, that person needs to take ownership of that, but the whole world does not need to know this.  On the flip side, who are we to boast of the good we do?  Doesn’t that undo what good we did?  Jesus would always tell people after a miracle to not tell anyone.  By helping others, we really help ourselves as well.  There is a goodness that is shared in the bond of helping.  By announcing it to the world and saying, I did that, you take away its special mystery of helping.  Don’t be discouraged when  you do something good for another or others and you are never noticed for it.  They surely have seen the good that you do.

This is what I find most often is the case for me.  I love to do the little things, to be behind the scenes, but my name people do not always know.  I have become quite alright with that, though I do fall guilty to wishing even just once in a while someone would acknowledge the good I do so I know I am doing something right and making an impact.  If people are not knowing your name behind things, don’t get discouraged, God knows the good you do.  As well, He knows the bad that you do too.  In either case, people don’t need to know your name.  There are lessons to be seen in everything and if you are willing, your eyes will be opened up to see.

I’ve tucked away a song or two.
If you’re feeling low, there’s one for you.
If you need a friend, then I will come.
And there’s many more where I come from.

This one I see as quite suiting for me, though that seems to be the case with them all.  This is more a declaration, whereas the last verse seems more a statement.  My personality lends for being there for others, a quiet presence with something unique to share.  My writing is very important to me, as it expresses me from many angles.  My closest friends and I have quite the bond that is unbreakable and we are ready at a moments notice to be there for each other when needed.  It is so important to have someone like that in your life.  The same of all this can be said of a relationship with God.  Sometimes I like to think that God is singing that verse to me.  It is quite comforting and gives me a sense of security.

[Friendship is the strangest thing
if you keep it to yourself, no reward will bring
but you gave it away, you gave it to me
and from now on great friends we’ll be]

Reading this verse and never having seen it before, I really wish it was one we sang.  It really hits to the depths of something that is so valuable to me.  My friendships are the greatest things in my life.  There are two friends that I find to be the utmost closest in my life.  One, while we appear to be drifting away, is someone I have known for at least 5-6 years, maybe longer.  There is the greatest ability to talk about anything and everything, even when we differ in opinions and trains of thoughts.  Even though we may be drifting slowly, we gave each other our friendship and the bond we created will not leave us.  There is another friend that I have known for around 3 years now, and there is also something very special here, unlike any bond that I have ever had.  It actually hurts a little to be away from this friend, but I have also realized something.  This person has a part of me, and I a part of this person.

After some certain events with both of these people, there is no way I am letting go of them.  I have a good amount of friends that I am glad I shared my friendship with.   Thus again, it is with God that I find this.  We are to give ourselves to Him and in return He gives us ourselves with His special love in us.  It is a beautiful thing.  It is said that friends are angels given to us by God, I tend to believe that.  I also believe that through our friendships the spirit truly moves.

Come with me where the fire burns bright,
We can even see better by a candle’s light.
And we’ll find more meaning in a campfire’s glow,
Than we’ll ever learn in a year or so.

I love fire and I could leave this section at just that, but of course I won’t.  There is something about a fire that pulls me in; you can learn so much from a fire.  You can learn the bad and the good.  A fire can tear apart everything.  A fire can provide heat and warmth.  A fire can ruin a person’s life.  A fire can draw us into close bonds.  We can learn so much from a fire.  I find that I can put myself into what one can see in a fire.  Where a fire can be destructive, I have gone through something that is real had to deal with.  Where a fire can be create warmth, I set out to give warmth of the spirit to those who need it.  While staring at a fire and getting to know it, you learn a lot and see deeper into many things than you could imagine doing, creating bonds.  When you get to know me, you see the depths of my soul and there is a mysterious bond that I hold that I hope people can learn from.  One can never explain the love and lessons of a fire that I have.

We’ve a promise to always keep.
And to pray “Softly Falls” before we sleep.
We’ll be Girl Scouts together and when we’re gone,
We’ll still be trying and singing this song.

I do not always understand the second line as much, or find a lot of meaning yet in it.  It is the idea of a promise that has been made throughout this song, in all the verses and the chorus I will talk about next, that is held here.  This promise for Girl Scouts is something we would state often in the Girl Scout Promise.  We say we will try to serve God and our country, to help people at all times, and to live by the Girl Scout Law.  From there, you could look into what the law states.  In the end, when we are gone from being active scouts, we keep trying and singing the song.  I know I will forever sing it.  It is this commitment that I hope I have in all I do, especially in the coming future of entering into formation for religious life with the Salesians.  I only pray that the promise I make with myself, others, and God are ones I will honor just as much as the lessons learn from scouting and this song.

On my honor, I will try.
There’s a duty to be done and I say aye.
There’s a reason here for a reason above.
My honor is to try and my duty is to love.

This refrain is amazing and everything I want to say in my life in everything I do.  There is a duty for each of us to be done on this earth, and I will do it.  There is a reason for us to be here as there is a reason up above.  No matter if we find that reason, our honor is trying and our duty is loving.  What else is there to say?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2010 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “On My Honor

  1. Ariniko

    May 7, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    This may sound odd, but I have been looking into this song. I would like you to know that I was part of the girl scout troop that wrote this song. It happened in the late 1970’s, probably 1979 ish. We were a troop out of Lansing, MI. My mom and aunt were the leaders. We had a snow night a only a handful of girls showed up for our meeting. We decided to write a song for our up coming talent show. On my Honor was the song we wrote. Most of the lyrics you have posted are the ones we wrote although some seem a little different. We sang this song for almost every event we went to because everyone wanted to hear it. I at one point was asked to sing it in front of all of the Lansing area girl scouts. I remember singing it at a micro phone and my mom playing the guitar. I was so scared that my knees were literally knocking into each other.
    Anyway, I just wanted to share that with you. I have copyright paper work that attributes the words and lyrics to another person. I’m not really sure about any of that. All I can tell you is what I know about the song. I’m am very thankful that it’s still so greatly enjoyed!
    Sincerely,
    Ariniko O’Meara

     
  2. Ash

    May 7, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Wow! I do know there are some lines that I know a couple versions of. I learned it going to summer resident camp. It was a classic for the camps I went to and then staffed. That is so amazing! I am from MN, so not too far off. I am not sure how wide spread the song has gone, but like I said, it is a classic for many of us at camp. I am so glad you stumbled here! If you asked anyone in the room, I got really excited upon reading your comment.

     
  3. Ash

    April 23, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    Reblogged this on Out of the Depths and commented:

    I wanted to reblog an old post of mine…as the song is in my head. It is back over a year ago that I posted this. My reflections are not the same, but similar. Either way, here it is again.

     
  4. tcdprayers

    April 23, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    My dear,
    This song is my favorite GS song. I have always loved…..and your words made it clear why. My blogged about my favorite stories attached to it on one of my two blogs….http://tcdprayers.wordpress.com/2010/04/22/on-my-honor/

    My dear, your reflections always make me think!!

    God Bless and thanks

     
  5. Linda

    May 23, 2016 at 3:07 pm

    This has always been my favorite gs song. It was not around when I was a Scout but it can around when I was a Leader for my 2 daughters and now I will teach it to my Grandaughters who are scouts now. I too was curious about “Softly Falls” and I researched and I found another old scout song called” Scout Vesper”. I think it fits. I fell in love with this too!

    “Softly falls” the light of day,
    While our campfire fades away
    Silently each scout should ask:
    “Have I done my task?
    Have I kept my honor bright?
    Can I guiltless sleep tonight?
    Have I done and have I dared
    In everything to be prepared?”

    Listen Lord, oh listen Lord
    As I whisper soft and low,
    Bless my Mom and bless my Dad,
    There is something they should know.
    I have kept my honor bright.
    The oath and Law has been my guide.
    Mom and Dad, this you should know,
    Deep in my heart I love you so.

    This is song is song to “O Tannenbaum”

     

Leave a Reply

 
