RSS

Sharing Your Time

22 Feb

In our discipleship we give of our time, talent, and treasure in various forms and ways.  Here are some of my thoughts on the topic of time.

Time is one of those things that many people seem to think they have none of.  The thing is, we have so much of it and we just may not be using it in the way which proves best.  Time can be thought of in terms of time management, giving time to proper things, and so many other things.  Sharing your time is sharing it with God, yourself, and others.

In college, I was never very good at managing my time and putting into a day what should be.  Unlike others though, I gave a lot of time to being in campus ministry and sitting around my room when I got really frustrated with my inability to understand and finish homework.  I gave my time to prayer and to doing ministry in the community, but forgot the part that was one of most important, being a student in a classroom.  I realized in my junior and senior year that balancing all the things that were important to me and to my future was something that was much needed to live a less stressful life.  The other thing that came across my mind was that I was spending a lot of time in ministry.  It seemed that I was using that to get to my relationship with Jesus.

One always seems to think that when talking about sharing time, it means with others.  I find that it means sharing your time with God and with yourself as well.  You need to make sure that you are healthy and well, otherwise anything that you will do will not hold the same capacity for your best.  I learned that real fast that taking care of myself was my top priority over the one called being a student.  It was important to take care of me.  How I did that was important.  Obviously, there are the typical things like sleep and eating right and exercising.  The other thing involves taking the time to be with God in whatever way possible.

There is this diagram a friend gave me.  Imagine three circles, a small one in the middle with another around it and yet another around them.  In the middle circle is your relationship with God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit.  In the next circle is your vocation.  In the outer circle is your ministry.  Most people feed their life from the outside going in.  This is what is not good.  We need to take the time making the inner circle, that relationship with God, the most important thing of all.  If we do that, He will guide us in our vocation and our ministry, giving us what our time in life is to be spent doing.  For me, I have been trying to add that personal prayer time into my life more and more.  This comes in the form of liturgy of the hours, rosary, divine mercy, spiritual reading, or just plain being with Christ.  That time is most valuable because it prepares you to do what else your time calls you to do; it gives you the best good spirited way to do them.

In that I have tried to keep myself very open to God’s call through time in prayer and doing work for Him, I have been led to be told what my time in my life must be like.  Everything for God takes on a whole new meaning for one who is told to give religious life a try.  One of the hardest parts is giving time to live in the moment of the possibilities this gives to my life.  I need to take more time to be with Christ and ask what I am to do to make this transition to formation good.  I feel like I am called to spend the time to serve God as His Son’s bride.  Beautiful it is, hard though, to think of my life given to this lifestyle.  It is one that takes all the time of my life to do all for Him.  Wow.

In the end, sharing your time is something that we must all do.  Being sure that you are sharing it in all aspects that are important in life is something that really should be worked on.  We do not need to go far and wide to reach people, though some are called to take that time to do so.  Take time in prayer to know how and where to spend our time, it is so important.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 22, 2010 in Inner Reflection

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Sharing Your Time

  1. Edde

    February 23, 2010 at 2:31 am

    I love your perspective, especially on taking time for yourself and for God. I think sometimes we get burnt out only taking care of other people, when we really need to take care of ourselves FIRST so we have the strength, energy, and resources to give to others.

     

Leave a Reply

 
