RSS

One of Many Theme Songs for Life

15 Feb

This video was shown to me and I found it really to be perfect for my life at this moment.  It is “Walk on Water” by Britt Nicole.  Take a listen to it; the lyrics are on the video.

So what are you waiting for
What do you have to lose
Your insecurities
They try to hold to you
But you know you’re made for more
So don’t be afraid to move
Your faith is all it takes
And you can walk on the water too

Can I just say, so true!  This is now one of my all time favorite songs.  I struggle each day with insecurities, worries, and fears.  Trying to hold on to that smile is my hope, as well as visiting the sisters whenever I can given my schedule and the money.  Now, it is not easy, as I have mentioned before.  Stay at it and God will bring you through. Let’s now dig into the part of the song that says “don’t be afraid.”

[Jesus’] most common command emerges from the “fear not” genre.  The Gospels list some 125 Christ-issued imperatives.  Of these, 21 urge us to “not be afraid” or “not fear” or “have courage” or “take heart” or “be of good cheer.”  The second most common command, to love God and neighbor, appears on only eight occasions.  If quantity is any indicator, Jesus takes our fears seriously.  The one statement he made more than any other was this: don’t be afraid. (Fearless by Max Lucado – page 10)

Jesus does not want us to be afraid.  Why do you think that is?  He was sent here by the Father to die for our sins and take care of the fear we have had because that sin.  Don’t be afraid.  Sounds simple when said just like that, but we know different.  One of the phrases that we use on the TEC retreats is “Let go and let God.”  Give it to Him, and He will comfort you.

Everyday I think about my entering (yes…still need to finish the application) to be a sister.  Can I do it?  Somewhere deep inside, I know I can.  On the flip, I have that fear and insecurity of whether or not I am cut out for this calling in life.  I ask that you all continue to pray for me as I pray for you, and we shall be help to each other on our journeys.

Fact: The Salesian Sisters in the United States belong to two provinces, the East and the West. I would belong to the Eastern Province, known as St. Philip the Apostle Province.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 15, 2010 in Inspirational Music, Living Salesian

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “One of Many Theme Songs for Life

  1. Kathi

    February 15, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    I love this song. I wish you well in your journey and the path you are on. Check out my blog if you have a chance.
    http://www.thoughtblossoms.wordpress.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
