RSS

Waiting Within

11 Feb

Fresh from my hands and my heart, I give to you another poem.  It is entitled “Waiting Within.”

Do you see it like I can see it now

Where did it come from, but how

It flutters around in me like a butterfly

Somehow it has lifted my spirits very high

My insides, oh do they really feel it

It is almost too much, how can I just sit

Oh the urge, it is definitely there

All this time left to go, can it I bear

Questions, oh the questions in my head

There are so many what ifs to be said

See that thing lurking in the darkness

I think it wants to make me feel less

No, wait, it cannot be allowed as so

With this light that warms me I must go

Why this brightness that must fill me

Where it leads, this I must really see

It sends away all that seems to pain

Oh the smiles that I cannot contain

For this greatest you give, I long

Just look at what it gives me, such song

The wait, will I make it to that day

The entering moment coming my way

Oh do pray for me this time to wait

Until comes that very special date

The things that fill me inside are numerous and great and in such varying degrees!  Into rhyme I do fall in the midst of it all!

Fact: There are four years of formation for the Salesian sisters that one must go through before taking first vows.  The following definitions are taken from Merriam-Webster.  The first year is Aspirancy.  An aspirant is “one who aspires.”  The second year is Postulancy.  A postulant is “a person admitted to a religious order as a probationary candidate for membership.”  The third and forth years are the novitiate.  A novice is “a person admitted to probationary membership in a religious community.”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2010 in Creative Corner, Living Salesian

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Waiting Within

  1. slpmartin

    February 11, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    As I read this poem…I thought about the African saying…”Moko enmee tso he, ni eyaye koyo abo.” (Nobody lets go a tree and swings in the air.) Waiting for the right and time is good.

     
  2. Betsy

    February 12, 2010 at 9:15 am

    Wow…yet again God has used you to speak very clearly to me. I’ve been struggling quite a bit with the waiting. I was just last night and this morning speaking to one of my friends about this. I really needed to hear that. Thank you so much for sharing this with me.

    JMJ+
    ~Betsy

    Totus tuus Maria!

     

Leave a Reply

 
