RSS

My Birthday Gift to Me!

10 Feb

A poem entitled “My Birthday Gift to Me!”

On this my birthday I declare
You will surely see me there
To give this religious life a try
It seems to lift my spirits high
As a gift I will give to me
I am letting God’s plan be
Taking this as time does go
Because who else can know
Salesians surely make me smile
A beaming smile longer than a mile
So to me from me on my birthday
This is what there is to say!

I have decided that I need to not fight what God wants me to do, but rather pray about it and pray that I am hearing the call right.  The what ifs and the questions are going to be there, end of story.  I will pray about them and give them to God.  Salesians, here I come!

Fact: The formal name for the Salesian Sisters is Daughters of Mary Help of Christians.  This title for the Blessed Mother dates to 1571 and Pope Pius V.  Don Bosco believed, “Our Lady wants us to honor Her under the title Mary, Help of Christians. Times are so bad that we need Our Lady to help us to be faithful and defend our faith.”

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 10, 2010 in Creative Corner, Living Salesian

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “My Birthday Gift to Me!

  1. slpmartin

    February 10, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    You reminded me of an African saying “Fi idza, fu Olorun dza; fi owo la eran.”…”Leave the battle to God, and rest your head upon your hand.”

     

Leave a Reply

 
